What is the age of consent in South Carolina?
Select a State Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Dating age law south carolina Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming.
Forum Today's Posts FAQ Calendar Community Albums Member List Forum Actions Mark Forums Read Quick Links View Forum Leaders What's New? Forum Criminal Law Forum Criminal Law Age of Sexual Consent in South Carolina. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Results 1 to 4 of 4. Age of Sexual Consent in South Carolina. Thread Tools Show Printable Version Subscribe to this Thread… Display Linear Play dating sim games online free Switch to Hybrid Mode Switch to Threaded Mode. Age of Sexual Consent in South Carolina What is the age for sexual consent in SC. I have seen three different ages beginning with 14, 15, and My son is 18 and his girlfriend is She thinks she may be pregnant.
I need info and advice. ACc View Profile View Forum Posts Private Message. The South Carolina Constitution provides an answer to your question - no unmarried woman may legally consent to sexual intercourse unless they are at least 14 years old. Although this is in the state Constitution, 14 is not the ultimate age of consent. Recent changes in South Carolina law make it illegal for a person to engage in deviate sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a child under the age of 16 if that person is three years older than the child.
According to that statute, if a child is between 14 and 16 years of age, they may consent to sexual intercourse with a person who is not three years older or under the age of This law makes 16 the ultimate age of consent. However, it is against the law for a person over the age of 14 to commit or attempt a lewd act upon a child under the age of There is also a "Fornication" law that makes it illegal for your son and his girlfriend to engage in sexual intercourse if they are not married.
This law does leave a window of opportunity for district attorneys to prosecute those who violate it. After reading these laws, THEY LEAD ME TO BELIEVE THE FOLLOWING: If your son and his girlfriend are within three years of age, he cannot be prosecuted for dating age law south carolina enticement of a minor unless they were engaging in deviate sexual intercourse or sexual contact before his girlfriend turned He can, however, be prosecuted for Committing or Attempting a Lewd Act Upon a Child Under the Age of 16 and Fornication.
Let me know if you have any questions Age of majority is South Carolina If you are under 18, you will need a certified copy of your birth dating age law south carolina and a notarized statement of parental consent. The minimum age for a female is 14 and it is 16 for a male. There may be judicial bypass in place of notarized statement of parental consent. For information on teen pregnancy rights, http: For a full discussion dating age law south carolina the law go to http: South Carolina Labor Law Posters By laborlaw in forum South Carolina Labor Laws.
Please note that some of our forums also serve as mirrors to Usenet newsgroups. Many posts you see on our forums are made by newsgroup users who may not be members of Dating age law south carolina. Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District Of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Dating age law south carolina Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada North Carolina North Dakota New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming.